Dîner de gala

9.Kings arms.jpg

King's College

11.Kings great Hall courtesy Meet Cambri

King's Great Hall

10.Kings_College_Chapel_courtesy Meet Ca

CREDIT: MEET CAMBRIDGE

DÎNER DE GALA KING'S COLLEGE

Vendredi 19 août à 19h15 pour 20h00

 

Fondé par le roi Henry VI en 1441, le King’s College était étroitement lié à son autre fondation, l’Eton College. Sa chapelle est connue pour sa voûte en éventail  d’une hauteur de 25 m. Le projet fut  achevé par le roi Henri VIII et contient un schema/plan complet de verre Flamand datant de 1517-1531, offert par lui-meme. L'écran est de l'artiste Florentin Benedetto da Rovezzano. Le bâtiment possède son propre musée dans les chapelles latérales.

L’entrée de la salle se trouve à gauche à l’entrée du collège  de King’s Parade. La salle a été construite dans le style néo-gothique par William Wilkins en 1824-8 pour compléter la chapelle de l'autre côté de la cour.

Le code vestimentaire pour le dîner sera costume/robe de soirée avec décorations. Conformément à la tradition établie de longue date de la Cambridge University Société d'héraldique et de généalogie, les hommes sont invités à porter une cravate blanche. Une cravate noire, une tenue de mess et un costume national sont  également autorises

Gala Dinner

9.Kings arms.jpg

King's College

11.Kings great Hall courtesy Meet Cambri

King's Great Hall

10.Kings_College_Chapel_courtesy Meet Ca

COURTESY: MEET CAMBRIDGE

GALA DINNER KING’S COLLEGE

Friday 19th August at 19.15 for 20.00

 

Founded by King Henry VI in 1441, King’s College was closely linked with his other foundation of Eton College. Its chapel is noted for its fan vaulting at a height of 25m. The project was completed by King Henry VIII and contains a complete scheme of Flemish glass dating 1517-31 donated by him. The screen is by the Florentine artist Benedetto da Rovezzano. The building has its own dedicated museum in the side chapels.  

The entrance to the Hall is to the left on entry into the College from King’s Parade. The Hall was built in the Gothic Revival style by William Wilkins in 1824-8 to compliment the chapel on the opposite side of the courtyard.

 

The dress code for dinner will be Evening dress with decorations. Following the long-established tradition of the Cambridge University Heraldic & Genealogical Society, gentlemen are invited to wear white tie. Black tie, mess dress, and national costume may also be worn.